Music Matters

It’s the Tuesday after a snowstorm, time to look around and appreciate the beauty of the snow fall … before it all turns to grey crud! Hey! Great name for a punk rock band, Grey Crud.

Anyway, I’ve got some musical notes for you this morning. Tonight at the Brattle Theatre in Cambridge, two excellent movies about two doomed frontmen. “Control” tells the story of Joy Division singer Ian Curtis … “Kurt Cobain: About a Son” is pretty self explanatory. Make sure your head is in the right place if you’re going, these are not happy stories, but like their subject matter, inspiring in their own way.

On the CD front “Distortion” by Magnetic Fields is getting a lot of … well, buzz (sorry). Rolling Stone loves it, Joan Anderman of The Boston Globe is a fan too. I’m going to give it a shot. Ringo Starr has a new album called “Liverpool 8.” I’ll pass.

I know I’m a little late to the game on “Cease To Begin” by Band of Horses, but I really love it. The opening track “Is There a Ghost” is so simple on the surface, but so deep in performance. Great stuff. I finally picked up “Carnavas” by Silversun Pickups. It’s pretty good … extra points for the song title, “Well Thought Out Twinkles.”

Lastly, American Idol returns to the tube tonight. The network cattle call is everything I love and hate about show business. I’ll watch some of it, but when it gets mean, or someone starts singing “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” for the eight millionth time … I’m out of there!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

